Lady Banks Bookshelf

Lady Banks Pick of the Week


Read This Now: The Index

What if there were an army of indie booksellers enthusiastically reading and reviewing practically every new book coming out in the next year, and what if the books they were the most excited about, the books they couldn't wait to push into their customers' hands with a breathless "You've GOT to read this!" (virtually or otherwise), the ones with all the nine- and ten-star ratings were carefully curated and collected in a handy list? Well, all we can say is...KEEP READING!

Browse the whole list!


Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl"The first thing you must do is stay calm."

This was the advice offered by The Keeper to Bee, Martha, Cannon, Whitney and Kip when they find themselves in the Neverworld Wake the first time. The Neverworld Wake is 11.2 hours the friends relive over and over a hundred, a thousand, possibly a million times as they search for answers about Jim's death, about the accident that threw them into the Wake, about the people they all thought they knew best in the world.

This psychological thriller of the most fascinating sort--one in which one's worst nightmare is relived again and again--is an absolute beach bag MUST for fans of Gone Girl, We Were Liars and We Are the Goldens.  

Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl ($18.99*, Delacorte Press), recommended by The Country Bookshop, Southern Pines, NC.

 A Spring 2018 Okra Pick