Lady Banks Bookshelf

Lady Banks Pick of the Week


The books you see on the the bookstore shelves may have just been published, but the booksellers who put them there probably read them months ago. Read, reviewed, and talked about with their bookseller friends and colleagues. Below are some of the books coming out in May and June they are really looking forward to. You won't find them on the shelves just yet, but pre-orders are always welcome.

The Night Before The Night Before 5/14/2019

"Look up page-turner in the dictionary and you will find The Night Before. Every theory I had was proved wrong. What a delightful reading experience that makes! I want more from Wendy Walker!" -- Amanda, Page 158 Books, Wake Forest, NC 

Riots I Have Known Riots I Have Known 5/21/2019

"Ryan Chapman’s debut takes very little time to grab the reader and refuse to let go. The story’s unnamed narrator weaves a tale so brutal, narcissistic, and often funny, the book flies by. A bizarre love letter to literature set in a New York penitentiary. Chapman is an author to watch." -- James, Malaprop's Bookstore/Cafe, Asheville, NC

GiveGive, a Novel 6/1/2019

"I met Erica at a conference and after hearing her speak, I couldn't wait to read her book - I was not disappointed. Jessie and Emma are the product of a broken marriage between Len and Laurel. Laurel was absent and at times a danger to the girls and Emma no longer wants to spend summers with her the way Jessie does. This novel tells of the trials and tribulations of loyalty to their two moms as well as their dad and the struggles of life in general. It's a lovely coming of age story that shows an honest portrait of a family that loves each other but may not always know the best ways to show it. " -- Andrea, Fountain Bookstore, Richmond, VA

Grace Will Lead Us HomeGrace Will Lead Us Home 6/4/2019

"Hawes writes a well-researched and sobering account of the Charleston Church Massacre. Her access to survivors, relatives of the dead, police, and city officials gives her a unique view of what happened that day in Charleston in 2015. She also presents an unbiased portrait of Dylann Roof, giving glimpses into his life that could have contributed to the shooter's mindset. At times intense, other times reflective, this is an account you don't won't to miss if you want to know more about this tragic shooting." -- Linda, Fiction Addiction, Greenville, SC

The Body in Question The Body in Question 6/11/2019

"I picked this up at work, read one chapter and took it home to finish that night. Then brought it back to work and made my boss read it. It was absorbing, dangerous, morally challenging in the best way and I loved it all. Between C-2 and F-17's relationship, one twin who set her brother on fire, another twin who may have manipulated a murder, and a dying husband, I left his book questioning where the line between right and wrong could even be drawn. There was so much packed into this little novel, but what a large impact it has after reading it. I hope I can get this book into as many hands as possible. It is a must read." -- Olivia, The Bookshelf, Thomasville, GA

Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan The Body Lies 6/18/2019

"When I read a book like THE BODY LIES I am reminded of WHY I read in the first place. The beauty and structure of Baker's language, the way she decided to tell this particular story, the suspense (is it real? is it imagined?) all combine to make my reading of this book an emotional and thought-provoking one. It has stayed in my head for days and I am still thinking through some of the deep questions she asks. Is my reading of this book different because I am a woman and a mother of a small child? Maybe. Should male readers also read this book? Absolutely. This is a headwrecker of a book, in the best possible way." -- Jamie, Bookmarks, Winston-Salem, NC