Lady Banks Bookshelf

Lady Banks Pick of the Week


The books you see on the the bookstore shelves may have just been published, but the booksellers who put them there probably read them months ago. Read, reviewed, and talked about with their bookseller friends and colleagues. Below are some of the books coming out next month they are really looking forward to. You won't find them on the shelves just yet, but pre-orders are always welcome.

Furious Hours Furious Hours 5/7/2019
"Rarely has a non-fiction book kept me awake with its beautiful prose and compelling perspective. Furious Hours interweaves 3 equally compelling stories - that of a murderer, of his lawyer, and of the novelist who investigated them - with deftness and empathy. Casey Cep's curiosity is so contagious that I found myself caring deeply about the history of dams and insurance! Un-put-down-able."
-- Lucy Stoltz, The Bookshelf, Thomasville, GA

Flight PortfolioThe Flight Portfolio 5/7/2019
"For sheer page-turning readability, The Flight Portfolio's on point. My husband and I took turns reading the massive arc, our bookmarks in a mad race to the finish. Orringer did a terrific job: based on a lot of truth, this is a story that deserves to be remembered. It's hard to tell the facts from the fiction which, I don't know about you, but I like that in a novel. Cinematic writing: watch for the movie..."
-- Erica Eisdorfer, Flyleaf Books, Chapel Hill, NC

Shouting at the RainShouting at the Rain 5/7/2019
"Its the first day of Summer and Delsie is over the moon about her best off-island friend Brandy is returning to the Cape. But the winds of change are blowing and things just seem different this season as Brandy would rather have mani-pedis than build mermaid house, and the gap between townies and tourists grows wider, Delsie becomes more aware of just who and what is truly important. Hunt, author of Fish in a tree has written the book that is perfect summer reading for that 12-14 year dealing with changing friendships."
-- Angie Tally, The Country Bookshop, Southern Pines, NC

Pie in the SkyPie in the Sky 5/14/2019
"If books came in cake form (and WHY NOT, I ask?), PIE IN THE SKY would be the apple mille-feuille of the bunch. Lai masterfully mixes a story of grief, familial love/discord, and feeling alienated that will have readers both biting their nails and loudly guffawing. Jingwen helps us remember that growing up means forgiving yourself and others--even if letting go is the one thing you don't want to do. A delicious confection that will be devoured by fans of Raina Telgemeier, Vera Brosgol, and Shaun Tan."
-- Hannah DeCamp, Avid Bookshop, Athens, GA

GlitchGlitch 5/14/2019
"A great take on the trend of characters entering video games! I loved this middle grade graphic novel -- Sarah Graley's writing is hilarious, and it was a fun romp through the pixel world of Dungeon City. I also love that it's two girls playing video games, which isn't featured enough in books like this. Definitely something we'll have on our shelves. "
-- Amber Brown, Quail Ridge Books, Raleigh, NC