Lady Banks Bookshelf

Lady Banks Pick of the Week


The books you see on the the bookstore shelves may have just been published, but the booksellers who put them there probably read them months ago. Read, reviewed, and talked about with their bookseller friends and colleagues. Below are some of the books coming out next month they are really looking forward to. You won't find them on the shelves just yet, but pre-orders are always welcome.

RecursionRecursion 6/11/2019
"Fast-paced and intelligent thriller that proves an interesting look at the consequence of time travel. Great characters and a page-turner plot make this an easy go-to summer read recommendation." -- Dwan Dawson-Tape, Sundog Books, Santa Rosa, FL

Someone Who Will Love You in All Your Damaged GlorySomeone Who Will Love You in All Your Damaged Glory 6/11/2019
"I didn't know I could feel so much through so many different stories and writing styles, but that's exactly what Raphael Bob-Waksberg has done to me with "Someone Who Will Love You in All Your Damaged Glory". Each story has its own air of honest individualism and flowing through each one of Bob-Waksberg's tales is like having waves crash into you, one after the other. If you've seen Bob-Waksberg's show "Bojack Horseman" you will absolutely adore his writing in this smorgasbord of short stories. " -- Delany Holcomb, Bookmarks, Winston-Salem, NC

The Strawberry ThiefThe Strawberry Thief 7/9/2019
"If you ever read Chocolat or saw the movie you will surely want to read this sequel. Ten years have passed and Vivianne is still in the same village but she has another daughter, Rosette, who is special, in ways that other people don’t always understand. Harris helps us renew old acquaintances from the past and charms us as we discover the future. A lovely story and a wonderful revisiting of all the people I came to love in the first novel plus a few new interesting characters that show up to make life more intriguing. Love this story!" -- Stephanie Crowe, Page & Palette, Fairhope, AL

Late MigrationsLate Migrations 7/9/2019
"A blend of memoir, nature writing, and poetry, Renkl beautifully observes and captures what it is to live, love, and lose, whether you are a mother or a daughter; a bluebird or a monarch butterfly" -- Gaël LeLamer, Books & Books, Coral Gables, FL

The Nickel BoysThe Nickel Boys 7/16/2019
"THE NICKEL BOYS is a compelling tale about race issues and cruelty in the deep south, and about keeping secrets and rising above yourself. I couldn’t put it down. This is the kind of book that’ll grow on you–you start reading and you don’t really know what’s going on, but you’re hooked anyway. You have to get to the next page, the next chapter, and before you know it you’ve accidentally gotten to the end and you’re not sure what time it is or where your day went. It’s a good, solid read addressing race issues from the 60's to today, told through the crucible of the Dozier school for boys. I thoroughly enjoyed it." -- Lizy Coale, Copperfish Books, Punta Gorda, FL