TIRED OF AN ALGORITHM TELLING YOU WHAT TO READ?

Find hundreds of great books—from the hottest new releases and bestsellers to tried and true classics to rare gems—each hand-picked and hand-curated from Southern indie booksellers' websites, newsletters, emails, facebook and twitter posts and from the moments when they stop us in the street, push a book in our hands and say…"YOU'VE GOT TO READ THIS!"

RECENT RECOMMENDATIONS FROM SOUTHERN INDIES (PDF)


RECENT RECOMMENDATIONS FROM SOUTHERN INDIES...

The Secrets We Kept by Lara PrescottThis is the story of a covert operation to smuggle the banned manuscript of Doctor Zhivago out of the Soviet Union and into print. It’s a story of art and power, identity and trust. Perfect for fans of The Americans or anyone who likes a page-turner.

The Secrets We Kept by Lara Prescott ($26.95*, Knopf), recommended by Parnassus Books, Nashville, NC.

We Are the Weather: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast by Jonathan Safran FoerA philosophical meditation on climate change, We Are the Weather is Jonathan Safran Foer's impassioned plea to readers to heed the signs of climate change and recommends a plant-based diet (until dinner) as the single action most individuals can take to make a personal impact. Using key moments from history - like the blackouts of WWII--combined with his own personal struggles and conscience, Foer's latest work will leave you unsettled, emotionally charged, and motivated to make whatever changes you can to help preserve what's left of the planet we call home.

We Are the Weather: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast by Jonathan Safran Foer ($25.00*, Farrar, Straus and Giroux), recommended by Bookmarks, Winston-Salem, NC.

Monster, She Wrote: The Women Who Pioneered Horror and Speculative Fiction by Lisa Kröger, Melanie R. AndersonGet your TBR (To Be Read) list out, it’s about to double! Monster, She Wrote is a guide to the amazing female pioneers of horror, speculative fiction, and to the women propelling these genres today. Organizing the authors you love into time period and theme, Monster, She Wrote builds a comprehensive history on how women have impacted the genre.

For each author profiled authors Kroger and Anderson give another with comparable works and styles. Love gothic novelist Margret Cavendish? Try some selected works from Regina Maria Roche or Ann Radcliffe. With so many more wonderful authors to explore, Murder, She Wrote is sure to be a staple reference for seasoned horror fans and newcomers alike!

Monster, She Wrote: The Women Who Pioneered Horror and Speculative Fiction by Lisa Kröger, Melanie R. Anderson ($19.99*, Quirk Books), recommended by Fountain Bookstore, Richmond, VA.

City of Beasts by Corrie WangIt can get all too easy to joke about the patriarchy and its toxic effects because the jokes help cover up the pain that goes along with a deliberate, toxic system. Somehow, the brilliant Corrie Wang has crafted a novel that actually challenges that notion while delivering a page-turning adventure filled with heart, humor, and radical empathy.

City of Beasts brings fresh life to the post-apocalyptic YA landscape with characters who just won’t quit and that you’ll have a hard time letting go of. Glori Rhodes is a force of nature, and the cast of characters that flank her are captivating and pulsating.

City of Beasts by Corrie Wang ($17.99*, Freeform), recommended by Itinerant Literate Books, North Charleston, SC.

Drink Like a Geek: Cocktails, Brews, and Spirits for the Nerd in All of Us by Jeff CiolettiDo you or someone you love like sci-fi? Comic books? Wizards? Genre TV? B-movies? Videogames? Cosplay and conventions? Space?!? Let's say this person (or you) happen to also like cocktails? Let's just get this out of the way first: YOU ARE MY PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND THIS IS YOUR BOOK!!!!!!!! Butter Beer (for grown-ups only, folks), The Doctor, James Bond, Star Trek (Romulan Ale, anyone?) are all covered and loads more.

Drink Like a Geek: Cocktails, Brews, and Spirits for the Nerd in All of Us by Jeff Cioletti ($19.95*, Mango), recommended by Fountain Bookstore, Richmond, VA.

My Jasper June by Laurel SnyderA summer story soaked in magic, My Jasper June is a beautiful exploration of friendship, loss, and family. Feeling neglected by her parents and lost in her own sadness, Leah finds an instant kindred spirit in Jasper and for the first time, begins to see the luster in life again. Jasper also knows a thing or two about abandonment, and as the girls bond over one magical summer, they realize they can't hide from reality forever. Luckily, Snyder is the perfect writer to tackle these tough subjects and does so with astounding grace and brilliance. My Jasper June is soon to be a beloved classic of book clubs everywhere.

My Jasper June by Laurel Snyder ($16.99*, Walden Pond Press), recommended by Square Books, Oxford, MS.

 A Summer 2019 Okra Pick

Who Are You, Calvin Bledsoe? by Brock ClarkeInspired by Graham Greene’s Travels with my Aunt, Brock Clarke’s new novel is a delightful journey (physically and emotionally) that constantly keeps us guessing at the final destination. This can be said of the narrator, Calvin Bledsoe, as well as the reader. At his mother’s funeral, Calvin meets an aunt he never knew he had, and embarks on an odyssey of self-discovery he didn’t know he needed. A thoughtful coming-of-age story wrapped in a screwball mystery caper, Who Are You, Calvin Bledsoe? may inspire questions of your own. It may inspire you to learn about John Calvin, the pellet stove, or even small animal pornography. It will most certainly make you smile.

Who Are You, Calvin Bledsoe? by Brock Clarke ($26.95*, Algonquin Books), recommended by Quail Ridge Books, Raleigh, NC.